Mod suggestion requests - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-09-2015 Thread Starter
Rookie

Mod suggestion requests

Hey all,

I recently got a 2000 GT 5 speed. I've about finished tuning the car back up to appropriate running condition and am now looking to start filtering my finances towards upgrades.

My end goal is somewhere in the 350-400 range, nothing crazy - none of those pie in the sky hopes and dreams kind of thing. I'm not trying to wake up tomorrow with a race car, I don't want to spend tens of thousands, but I'm not looking to be cheap about it either - it's an extended goal over the next year or so.

I'm basically a complete newbie when it comes to modifications, so... could ya'll help point me in the right direction?

At the moment, the car has:
K&N intake
S&L exhaust (debating replacement)
Exedy lightweight flywheel (heat cracks killed the stock, this was a need to replace, not want to replace)

I've seen some recommendations floating around to replace the TB w/ a 75mm and install an intake plenum (it seems to almost always be C&L). Is that something worth considering? Also, does anyone know anything about the combination throttle intake plenums that are the TB and plenum in one?

Thanks in advance!

- Salvatore

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-09-2015
PONY Member
4.6L Member
S197 Member

Garage
To get that power out of the 2 valve 4.6, you're best bet is to put a blower on it. It's the cheapest and most logical route at least, and you can get a procharger or vortech kit in the $5K ballpark. And from my understanding they're a pretty straight forward install. And that should get you somewhere between 360- low 400s at the wheels.

INSTAGRAM --@allen_nightmare5oh
2014 5.0 6R80 - Mods - Bama Tune, Roush Axle Backs. - 1/4 Mile - 12.56 @ 116.8

2005 GT 5-spd - Mods - JLT 3 Intake, Bama 93 Tune, MAC Boomtubes. - 1/4 Mile - 13.28 @106 --- SOLD!!
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-09-2015