help on making my 2000 GT faster - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Urambo Tauro

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-13-2016 Thread Starter
Rookie

help on making my 2000 GT faster

Hey gang, Im a newbie on here so hiya! Let me start off by saying ive had a 65, 89 5.0, 92 5.0, 91 5.0 all mustangs and now i just picked up a 2000 GT. Ive never did any mods to the other stangs but I really want to make this one fly. Its an automatic and this is what it has already that was previously installed. BBK shift kit, Full SLP exhaust, Throttle body, Steeda underdrive pulley, BBK trans cooler, 4:10 racing gears, tuned by bamer tuner. So it already moves..what do you think the next thing i can do? aside from NOS or a supercharger. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-13-2016
GT Member

Welcome!

The first thing I would do is add subframe connectors and focus on the suspension.

JonR2006 and phenomxxxx like this.

1995 Mustang GT (5.0), daily driver
1995 GMC C2500 (5.7), alternate daily driver
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-13-2016
SHELBY GT 350 Member
Classic Member
4.6L Member

Higher stall speed torque converter. Have heard from many with auto's that this is basically required in order to make the rearend gears worthwhile.

Get a tuner.

Above suggestion on subframe connectors and in general suspension stuff is spot on. Lower control arms for the rear are a must, and if your car is still factory equipped for crossing small streams and other misc floodwaters then you may want to think about lowering it a little.

2001 GT Convertible
/1967 Coupe
All the usual bolt-on's /200 I6, C4

And a few Explorers too... 2008 4.0 XLT 4x2, 1996 XLT 5.0 4x2, 2003 Sport Trac XLT 4.0 4x4

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-15-2016
GT Member
S197 Member

When I had my 04 gt auto I had Catback, X pipe with cats, intake, steeda pulleys and a nitrous tune (pulls timing) went 13.9 in 90 degree weather. On the bottle 12.7 12.8.