Engine swap Question - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017 Thread Starter
Rookie

Engine swap Question

I am new to the Mustang scene and recently bought a burned 03 GT automatic.The motor is junk and I had read that you can put a Mark 8 aluminum short block in with the heads off the existing motor. I am wondering if an earlier 90's lincoln motor is compatible with my 03 if I want to bolt on my top end and bolt it up to my stock 4R70W trans. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017
Apprentice

I'm doing that right now. You'll need a 93-98 Mark VIII. Some mods need to be done to the block, such as drilling a coolant passage and possibly clearancing the water pump boss to get the timing chain guides to clear if it's an early Teksid. You'll need different timing components, which I can help with later on if you decide to tackle this project.

You'll also need bigger cams to allow the higher compression of the Mark VIII pistons to bleed off. You'll need stage 2 or bigger cams to get it to run on pump gas with a good tune. The Mark VIII 3cc pistons is also where I ran into problems with my stage 3 cams. They are near a flat top instead of the standard 17cc GT pistons, so they need valve notches. My .25" Crown thickness Mk8 pistons needed .080" notched, leaving only .170" thickness. Not enough, it'll possibly cause a hot spot and blow a hole in the piston. Meaning you might end up needing to buy new pistons with notches in them. New rods and pistons cost me $1200, doubling the cost of the project for me.

So it can be done, and the power gains will be very nice. But it's not just bolting your 2v heads and intake onto the Mk8 block. You'll need machine work, bigger cams and springs, new bearings, rings, main bolts, rod bolts, head bolts, side bolts. Gaskets.

What I thought would be a cheap quick project got expensive in a hurry for sure