2004 GT Mustang - 5 Speed Manual Transmission - Lost 3rd and 4th Gear - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008 Thread Starter
Rookie
4.6L Member

Question 2004 GT Mustang - 5 Speed Manual Transmission - Lost 3rd and 4th Gear

Hey everybody, I'm new to the AFM site and I'm hoping someone can give me some guidance/direction. This morning on the way to work I dropped into 3rd gear to pass someone going 50 in the fast lane and that was fine, went back up to 5th with no problem then ( a few miles later ) I went back into 3rd and nothing. 4th gear worked but then on the way home I lost 4th gear as well so now all I have is 1st, 2nd, and 5th (not good).
I haven't done any tranny work since I swapped out an FMX with a B&M Street Strip C6 and I've never done a manual transmission swap. 15 K worth of Snap-On tools and I just don't have the time or another car to drive while I fix this (what a shame - I know).
Of course the warranty ran out about 10k miles ago and this is my primary/only vehicle so I've already scheduled an apointment at the local dealer (trust me I don't want to do this but I'm running out of time).
The dealer gave me a ballpark of 1000 to 1500 and I just want to make sure that I'm not getting hosed too bad.
Can someone tell me:
1.) what might be the problem (I'm thinking the synchro is pooched)
2.) the car has got ~50k miles, is there any other maintenance I should definitely do while the tranny is out since I have to pay for an R&R anyway?
3.) why this kind of crap always happens when I have no money - LOL

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-06-2008
Site Sponsor
4.6L Member
5.0L Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_def_j View Post