Best clutch/shifter for 1998 Mustang GT - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-23-2008 Thread Starter
4.6L Member

Arrow Best clutch/shifter for 1998 Mustang GT

I have a 98 GT, and i was going to get the MGW short throw shifter. But i figured that since i have 110k miles, i should replace the clutch and flywheel with a "racing" one since i intend to add mods to my car for a while. I can do the short shifter install myself, but i would take the clutch and flywheel to a dealer to get it done.
Any suggestions on what i should get? Im a college student so the less i spend the better, but im not goin to sacrifice quality with cheap parts. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-24-2008
Site Sponsor
4.6L Member
5.0L Member

First of all, Welcome to AFM.

With 110K miles on the clock, I would also consider replacing the clutch. There are alot of choices out there that won't break the bank. King Cobra for instance is a decent clutch for little coin. Spec Racing also makes a damn fine clutch and are very reasonable. My personal choice would be a Spec. With your listed mods and the fact that you are planning more in the future, I would suggest a Spec stage 1 or stage 2. Their Stage 1 in 10.5" is rated at 480ft/lbs which is more than enough for most guys unless they are going with a turbo or super charger. Their stage 2 is rated at 550-560ft/lbs for those applications. The stage 1 goes for $209 for a 10.5" or $229 for an 11" and the stage 2 sells for $319 for the 10.5" and $339 for the 11". Most 4.6 motors in stangs use a 164 tooth flywheel which calls for the 11" clutch.