Oil Pressure Gauge Fluctuating - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2012 Thread Starter
PONY Member
4.6L Member

Oil Pressure Gauge Fluctuating

I have a 2000 Mustang GT 5-spd with about 152,000 miles. Just yesterday I noticed the oil pressure gauge was fluctuating when at idle or my clutch was in. It would go from normal (little more than half way) back to 0. Once I start to drive it goes back up to normal. I noticed this only happens when my car is cold and not warmed up yet. I also haven't changed my oil in 8,000 miles. I know, I'm a terrible person!!! I just haven't had but like $60 to my name on a good day. I'm a student so I'm not Mr. Moneybags yet. I have read in different threads that this could be the oil sender unit, or even just crappy Ford manufacturing and there's nothing I can do about it. Any ideas will help, and I plan on getting my oil changed in the next few days.

2000 Mustang GT!!!
FRPP Intake manifold, Flowmaster 40's with larger pipes and tips (Nice deep tone).

"I want to own a shop where people can come and not get completely ripped off" - Ludacris (Fast Five)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2012
Apprentice
5.0L Member

Just take it to a shop or someone you know who has a good oil pressure gauge and see what it is then. The stock ones are pretty much on/off so anything can throw them off.

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2012
GT Member

Garage
Not going into the whole Dad thing, but you are going to have a lot less than $60 in your pocket when you are paying for buss tokens. Get’r changed.

When the oil is weak (dirty), or low on oil, or a plugged oil filter, this will cause the pressure to drop at a low idle, and then go up when you increase the RPM. Your oil pump is working overtime. Change the oil and filter and then see if you are still having the same problem. And before you do the oil change check the oil level right now and see if you are low.