1996 Mustang Automatic to Manual Swap. What parts are required? - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014 Thread Starter
Rookie

1996 Mustang Automatic to Manual Swap. What parts are required?

I am new to Mustangs so pardon my lack of knowledge. My girlfriends son just picked up a 96 V6 5-spd that has a complete 4.6 GT swap (motor, auto, rear) and we would like to now swap the automatic to a 5-speed. Clutch pedals are still in the car so that isn't a problem. Are the cross member and drive shaft the same for the automatic or will we need to swap that as well? The previous owner gave a us a 5-speed trans, flywheel and clutch with the car that he was going to swap but never did. Also how do I identify if this is the correct trans and flywheel or not?

Thanks,
Scott

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014
GT Member
4.6L Member

It depends on if the engine is a Romeo or Windsor. What year is the engine built? If you don't know that, count the amount of bolts on the valve covers, I believe Romeo engines has 13 bolts per side, while Windsor has 11 bolts per side. When we know which engine it is we will be able to tell you if the clutch is right or wrong (6-bolt or 8-bolt crankshaft).

As long as you have the clutch pedal assembly, all you will need is a clutch cable and clutch cable quadrant. I assume the 5 speed transmission is complete with the clutch fork, if not you will need one. Make sure to use a brand new Ford throwout bearing!