Cam question for 94 302 - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019 Thread Starter
Rookie

Cam question for 94 302

Hey guys so i have a 91 bricknose truck that i got a while back and had a new engine put in from a 94 its a roller cam with a aftermarket 4 barrel carb intake manifold and a few other things but im pretty sure it has stock heads and cam my question is do i need aftermarket heads if i wanted to upgrade my cam? And also what are good options for a good cam and head if needed for a heavy lifted truck that also gains good power on a budget lastly do i need to worry about valve springs and lifters and such (sorry im new to the modding world) thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019
GT Member

If its a 302HO from a 94 Mustang,it'll have E7TE heads and a camshaft with about .445" of lift w/ 1.6 rockers.A cam wont make much of a difference without heads,but heads on their own can give a decent increase,depending on which ones you get.If you've got the cash,a good set of aluminum heads will give you the best power increase.AFR & TFS are great,but they're not gonna fall under the budget category.Either will be above $1000 unless you can find some good used ones,but look them over carefully before/if
buying.There are some cheaper brand heads available,but I hear complaints quite a bit about their quality,including casting flaws,cheap valvetrain components,valve seat inaccuracies, etc,so do your research by reading reviews,etc before you decide to buy.
A truck requires tq to get it moving,so choosing a cam with good tq in the low to midrange is likely best over something with hp in higher ranges.What you plan to do with the truck is another consideration.If its a daily driver or trail only or both??Its probably best to talk to a tech at some of the popular cam companies to get some suggestions so you can explain exactly what you're after.

post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019