Ford Mustang Forum - View Single Post - Independent Granatelli CAI Review by a newb...
View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-21-2006 Thread Starter
wjbiv
S197 Member

Independent Granatelli CAI Review by a newb...

I've followed several threads on Granatelli's CAI. Seems like 50% of us hate Granatelli and 50% of us love them. I thought it was time for a more moderate viewpoint. Below is a review of this CAI by a guy with no prior experience with Granatelli, no serious performance aspirations, and no racing experience. I'm no mechanic either, just basic tool-using skills.

Why I chose Granatelli...
I'm afraid of tuners; I'm afraid of warranty hassles; I'm afraid of spending money. Guess I'm just afraid. So I've reviewed all the 'tuneless' CAIs on the market. Granatelli spoke to me because its not really tuneless - it provides a recalibrated MAF sensor that alows the engine to properly match fuel to the new higher air flow, using the stock tune. This just makes more sense than restricting the air tube so that the flow matches factory specs as in other tuneless CAIs. If the numbers bear out, there is some good bang-for-the-buck in this unit. Granatelli's site reports a 25rwhp increase with the CAI. Independent dynos have seen 18-20rwhp. Even if I only get 18rwhp for $300, I call that a good deal.

I also like the fact that there is a one-for-one swap between old and new, no sharing of MAF or other parts. This allows for swapping the old one back in in a matter of minutes if you get freaked out by warranty hassles.

Finally, the throttle lag, torque nanny, and rev-limiter didn't really bother me before, so there wasn't much point in getting a tuner at this time.

Out-of-the-Box...