Bypassing premium amp, worth it? - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-28-2012 Thread Starter
Rookie

Bypassing premium amp, worth it?

I have a 1995 mustang with premium sound (convertible, non-mach, amp is in dash under stereo), currently has aftermarket head unit and speakers. I'm about to upgrade to a Sony DSX-S100 and I've figured out the wiring harness situation (I'm new to this and the current stereo was installed by previous owner, I did the four speakers myself though) and I'm just wondering, will there be a notable difference if I bypass the factory amp?

I found this plug on ebay to bypass the premium amp, and I verified that the plugs in the amp match up (actually unplugged them to check)
Ford AMP BYPASS ELIMINATOR Wiring HARNESS 95 96 97 | eBay

My current setup is just an old Pioneer DEH-1300 (yes, non-mp)
and it's wired like normal with this Metra 70-5511 (met-705511) Wiring Harness for Select 1989-1994

new head unit itself Sony DSX-S100 Digital media receiver at Crutchfield.com

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-28-2012
Banned
4.6L Member

not only is it worth it but it's mandatory, the Mach 460 uses low ohm speakers and amps/decks, so you can't mix and match stuff that is not directly compatible

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-28-2012 Thread Starter
Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Manystangs View Post
not only is it worth it but it's mandatory, the Mach 460 uses low ohm speakers and amps/decks, so you can't mix and match stuff that is not directly compatible
Sounds like you didn't read my post.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012 Thread Starter
Rookie

Well I've installed the new stereo and everything is working fine like with the pioneer, though I still would like to know if that premium amp is reducing the power sent to the speakers.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-06-2012
Rookie
2.3L Member