1999 Mustang Stereo replacement. Any advice very much appreciated! - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-20-2014 Thread Starter
Rookie

1999 Mustang Stereo replacement. Any advice very much appreciated!

Hi guys, I have just bought a new Pioneer DEH-X8500BH headset for my 99 v6 Mustang coupe. I am thinking about trying to install it myself, but I have never put in a radio before. Can anyone give any installation advice? Is this something that a beginner is going to be able to do or not? Thanks for any help!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-20-2014
PONY Member
4.6L Member

I just put in my aftermarket stereo in my 2000 GT last week, and I was a complete beginner to this whole sort of thing. It is incredibly hard to find actual professional videos and info on this matter, so you will be doing a lot on your own. I'll try to help you with what I can. Beware, there's a lot of text.

Because our years shared the same style of radio, I am going to assume you have one single DIN stereo deck/cassette player and one single DIN CD player. Hopefully you understand what I mean by DIN.

You need to pick up a set of Ford stereo removal tools. Scosche DT1 - DIN Radio Removal Tool: Auto Electronics : Walmart.com

This video will help show you how to remove the factory stereo. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-eW0CIJW0c

2000 Mustang GT
Black/Black 5speed
Performance: stock

My pride and joy, my first car ever. Bought on 6/2/2013.

Check it out at my channel here: youtube.com/mustangfanatic95
Expect more vids in the Spring: Car shows, cruises, fly-bys, etc.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-20-2014
PONY Member
4.6L Member

The CD deck is the same. They are going to be a pain to remove the cables and clips, because it's been sitting for 15 years like that, so be patient, and try not to break anything.