I need help removing the Mach 460 system - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2014 Thread Starter
Apprentice

I need help removing the Mach 460 system

I have a 2003 Mustang Mach 1 and Ive noticed that there is no Aux plug or USB plug therefore, I cant plug my IPOD In. Whats the best way to remove the system? Should I use the factory wires and remove the stock amps and put a 4 Channel amp, or should I rewire 4 sets of wires? Where can I get a wiring diagram? Thanks guys.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2014 Thread Starter
Apprentice

Can I do it this way? Im new to car audio so bare with me. I get a wiring harness that goes to my car which will have the wires (Yellow, Red, black) Battery, Run, ground. I connect those to the aftermarket deck wiring harness. I tape away the speaker wires from the deck wiring harness. I install 4 sets of speaker wire that goes to the 4 channel amp to the speakers. I have the illumination wires, remote wire and 12 volt installed. I install in 2 sets of RCAs from the desk to the amp. Will this method work or am I missing anything?

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2014
Rookie

If I was to switch out the mach 460 system completely, which i'm going to do on my '00, I would start with the cd player.

I already did this part on mine and the idiot before me cut the factory harness out, so I had to go wire to wire, no harness. If your harness is still all there, like it should be, yea just buy the adapter and hook it up to your aftermarket cd player.

For the speakers, I would go with a 4 channel amp, and all new speakers. To do that, I would mount my new 4 channel amp in the spot the current amps are for the mach 460 system and throw away the old amps. (you could probably sell them if you wanted to though.)