Ford Mustang Forum banner

Need some help with 2012 base audio

10K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  CMT1 
#1 · (Edited)
To begin, I swear I used the "Search" function. Unfortunately I got a couple of "No results found" and some links that didn't fully help.

As per the thread title, I have a 2012 base, 4 speaker, no frills radio. I would like to upgrade the speakers before I add an amp and sub. I have some installation experience but will retain the factory HU since I can't justify (to myself) spending over $400 on an install kit.

Here's what I need help with:

What is the factory radio output wattage? EDIT: 16wx4 according to another site
What is the max door speaker mounting depth?
What are the ohm ratings on the base factory speakers? Someone posted it was 4 for the rears on a Shaker.
Can someone here direct me to a component speaker install article/video? I understand that finding a place to mount the crossovers can be a problem. EDIT: Probably going with Kenwood 5 1/4 component with inline crossover (Front)

I know that I need a kit like the AOEM FRD24 to get RCA's. I haven't decided about who to go to for an amp. Or even if I need one. The quality after the speaker install will determine. Luckily I have an Infinity Basslink sitting around, so that's covered.

Thanks in advance.

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
The stock HU probably (at most) puts out 18watts X 4 channel's. You could try to integrate with a good DSP but that could be a major PIA and expensive.

Tons of options...any idea of what level you want to get to?? Budget?? Willing to do a little fabricating...do you want double din GPS, or a single din unit geared more for audio performance and much more affordable? Aftermarket drop in's on the stock radio might be a slight improvement...slight