Carb issues on 66 mustang - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ivy66GT

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-18-2017 Thread Starter
Rookie

Send a message via Yahoo to Dillon1995
Carb issues on 66 mustang

Im new to this so sorry if this post sounds noobish. I'm having issues with my Auto lite 1100 in my 66 mustang. The car will idle strong but when i give it some gas i believe it is getting to much air and not enough fuel. I replaced the fuel filter and it seemed to fix it for a week but now I'm having problems again. The fuel pump is new so thats not the problem either. I would really like some insight on this subject.

p.s the car is a 200 straight 6 cylinder

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017
PONY Member

Is the fuel lines and gas tank original? New fuel filter helping and the going back to original problem kind of sounds like trash from the lines or tank are stopping up the filter and not letting enough fuel through

post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017 Thread Starter
Rookie

Ill check the fuel lines but i know the fuel tank is new.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017
GT Member

How do you know it's not getting enough gas?. Does it bog
when you step on the throttle?. My first guess would be the
acelerator pump. When you step on the throttle do you see
gas squirting in ?. Also is your idle mixture correct? You can
pull one of the plugs if it is white in color that means it is too lean.
If it is kinda tan it is ok.
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017
BOSS Member

IMHO, the carb/ignition/timing needs to be adjusted..... find an ol timer who really knows what they are doing it should be a very easy fix....this could even be caused by a change of fuel (formulation)

:hello:
Member: Never trust a person over 40 who drives a Chevy club
Flatheads ain't so bad!
Certified backyard mechanic I & II
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017
GT Member
Classic Member
5.0L Member