Oil dipstick tube - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rpony66MI

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-29-2018 Thread Starter
Rookie

Oil dipstick tube

I recently came into possession of a 1966 Mustang with a 289. My problem is that the engine was stripped for painting and I was not there when this was done. I now have the car, but none of the parts. I recently ordered a dipstick and dipstick tube for the car, when I went to install the tube it did not fit. It looks like the old tube is broken off right at the pan. Two questions, are there different size tubes and if not any ideas on how to get the old broken tube out? I am new at this and don't want to make things worse. Thanks in advance.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0096.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	407.5 KB
ID:	602801   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0093.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	720.3 KB
ID:	602809  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-29-2018
PONY Member

The mis named "EASY OUT" may grab the piece of tube still in the timing was cover and help you pull it out. the other option is to pull the timing was cover and use a punch to tap the tube out of the cover far enough to grab with a pliers and remove it. DO NOT FORCE IT INWARDS the cover is tapered. While the tubes come in different lengths and configuration they are all the same diameter. so as long as you got a matched tube and stick you should be good to go.

I'D RATHER GO SLOW THAN NOT GO AT ALL
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-29-2018 Thread Starter
Rookie

That is what I was thinking, but wanted to make sure before I did something stupid. Thanks for the quick reply.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-29-2018
SHELBY GT 350 Member

Garage
You can try the "easy out" but those are typically done on bolts by drilling a relatively small hole in the center.