How Air Temps affect MPG - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017 Thread Starter
PONY Member

Garage
How Air Temps affect MPG

So this winter we've had some really crazy up and down weather here in VA. One day it's 30 degrees and 2 days later it's 60 and then back to 30. This has been going on all through December and January. I've been closely watching my gas mileage since I bought my Ecoboost back in Aug. Up till November I was hanging right at 28 MPG average. Then the colder weather hit and it dropped down to nearly 27mpg average. I just chalked this up to the switch to winter gas additives. Recently I've noticed though on days where the air temp is 50+ I'm getting between 27.6 to 28 MPG. If the temps are below 50 I'm seeing decreases somewhere between 27 and 27.5. I use 93 octane from the same gas station each time. The only variance is air temps.
So my question is what exactly is causing this? I am not an expert but my initial thought is colder air being denser causes the computer to adjust the A/F ratio. More or denser air meaning more fuel being injected. Is this thought process correct or do you think it's something else?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017
BOSS Member
4.6L Member

Garage
I'm noticing the same thing but I personally think it's effected by more than just temperature...tire pressure changes, driving habits for each tank, gas quality, type of traffic throughout the span of a tank, etc...

Are you adjusting the tire pressure to be the exact same every day? Every 10 degrees is one PSI (up or down). You could be running lower tire pressures which tends to negatively effect MPGs.

There are probably a lot of things contributing to what we are seeing other than the temperature drop. You are seeing such a minimal affect (maybe 1 MPG at the most). Too many variables to consider that I'm not comfortable attributing it to just one of them.

Matthew 26:52-54 / Go Pack Go!