Required fuel with 2015+ GT? - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tido2k

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Rookie

Required fuel with 2015+ GT?

I have a 2019 Mustang Ecoboost now. I am very happy with my mileage, about 33.5 MPG with regular unleaded fuel. I know I'd get a bit more performance with a higher octane gasoline, but I do not need that. I'm a fairly un-aggressive driver usually.

What about the GT? Does it require premium fuel? I know the HP and torque numbers are better with premium fuel, but for 90% of my driving I'd a very happy with less numbers but more money in the bank. But if Ford recommends only Premium, so be it.

If premium fuel is required, that's a deal breaker for me trading my EB for a GT in a year..................

2019 Mustang EcoBoost Premium AT
all stock but MBRP Street cat-back exhaust
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 4 Weeks Ago
PONY Member

I'd be more concerned with the price of tires...

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 4 Weeks Ago
Apprentice

Garage
For the GT, as far I Know, premium (91 and up) is recommended, but not required.
my89foxbody likes this.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 4 Weeks Ago
Apprentice

Garage
I run 87 octane regular in my 2016 GT. I usually get my gas from Costco. One time the at the Turlock Costco the regular pump wasn't working and they let us pump premium for the same price as regular. I didn't notice the difference in performance in normal street driving with 1/4 of regular remaining in the tank and the rest 95 octane premium. I have never chosen premium over regular, and it hasn't caused any problems in 38,000 miles.