Susp. Guys: Talk to me about sway bars - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2004 Thread Starter

Susp. Guys: Talk to me about sway bars

I was looking into a rear sway bar from MM to compliment my three link systems I already have. Even though I studied a bunch of suspension crap I haven't really read up on something as simple as the sway bar. Which one would be good for me? How do they help and why? Here is a link to the ones that I was looking into. As you can see there are different types for different aplications. I would call MM but I don't think they want to be on the phone with me for over in hour.

http://maximummotorsports.com/rsb.asp

Also:

For anybody that has one, how does it ride? big difference? Rougher ride? The torque arm gave me a little more body roll (that's why I'm thinking of getting one) but that's nothing compared to the cornering ablility I gained!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2004

Call Maximum , They will be glad to let you know what you need. A swaybar recomendation has to be made knowing all of your other suspension mods and wieght and how you want to use the car . Street/street and race /or race only. They are very helpful, it will only take 15 minutes to have it on its way to you. I put one of their adjustables in last month and love it. Hope this helps. Paul

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2004 Thread Starter

In what area did you notice the biggest approvement on when you installed it? At work I have plenty of internet time but no phone time. By the time I get home MM would be closed.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004
PONY Member
5.0L Member

I have a torque arm too. You'll need to go to a 1" (or bigger)rear sway bar

Quick rule(s) I go by is

street-gt/lx 5.0L front and rear
Hot street/auto X-1" front gt/lx 5.0L rear
auto X-1.25" front 1" rear
road race-same as auto X

This is just a general place to start. Each suspention is different.