Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By wmburns
  • 1 Post By wmburns
  • 1 Post By wmburns

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Rookie

No Fuel Pump Prime. Ignition Switch?

Hey all newbie here. Just acquired my first ever Mustang. It's a 2001 convertible with 114,000 miles. Has the 3.8 with auto trans.
I'm having the following issue. When I try to start the engine I get no fuel. Here's the kicker. If I use the car's after market remote start the engine fires right up. Put the key in the ignition, turn on and drive away. Was told by previous owner that the car started with the key at one time (with the remote start installed). I'm guessing I have a bad ignition switch?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 4 Weeks Ago
SHELBY GT 350 Member

Do you want to know for sure? Test to see IF there is key on power into and out of fuse F2.34 with the key on. Fuse F2.34 is used as the CCRM pilot duty circuit and is responsible to "pull up" the CCRM thus powering on the rest of the motor circuits.

1999-2004 MY fuse panel schedule:
https://www.allfordmustangs.com/foru...ml#post2669271

It seems to me that this could also be a wiring problem. More trouble shooting needed. Likely you will also need to know HOW the remote start has been spliced in.

1996+ Crank with no start check list
https://www.allfordmustangs.com/foru...e.html#2984838

imps likes this.

2003 GT Convertible (sold & missed)
2000 GT coupe (Craigslist project. Fixed. Now my DD). Windsor to Romeo swap.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Rookie

Smile

Thanks Wmburns. I was hoping you'd chime in with some wisdom.