Oil Pan replacement ,1994 Mustang - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-09-2011 Thread Starter
Rookie
V6 Member

Oil Pan replacement ,1994 Mustang

Hello everyone and thanks in advance for your willingness to help out this is greatly appreciated. I have a 94 mustang v6 and the other day I hit a sewer cap that was raised too high and it tore a hole in my oil pan.

I'm told that it will need to be replaced but they will have to lift the engine. I'm a college student with little money so I've asked my uncle to help. I was wondering if anyone knew the easiest way to change that oil pan. I had heard rumors that you might be able to drop the suspension rather than lift the engine.

I don't know much about cars at all so I'm at a loss but my uncle seems to be an okay mechanic when I can get him motivated. I'm paying my way through grad school and I just can't afford to spend the $650 in labor they want so I'm reaching out for help. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and God Bless!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-09-2011
SHELBY GT 350 Member

The procedure in the Ford manual for V6 oil pan replacement calls for the motor to be supported with a fender style brace. In addition, the K-member must be lowered to gain access.

Good luck.

2003 GT Convertible (sold & missed)
2000 GT coupe (Craigslist project. Fixed. Now my DD). Windsor to Romeo swap.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2011
MACH I Member
V6 Member
5.0L Member

My chiltons says that you do not need to touch the suspension. It says remove the starter to allow everything to lift more.

What year ford manual were you looking at? The 01 up cars this may be necessary because the main caps / girdle was bigger. Sice he has a 94 it should be easier.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2011
SHELBY GT 350 Member

You are right. I was using a 2002-2003 reference.