Blown Head Gasket HELP - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By 6stang02

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-28-2015 Thread Starter
Rookie

Any Suggestions? Blown Head Gasket HELP

My 97 Mustang V6 3.8L recently Blew a head gasket. 152,325 Miles. I'm not very experienced in engine work but I'm replacing the head gasket myself. I don't have 2K to get it done at a shop. I have been told that before I take off the heads, I have to make sure the engine is in DTC or else when I take off the heads and replace everything, I'm going to mess up the factory Tune on the Stang. Is that true? Any and all help is much appreciated!!

This is my passion
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-28-2015
Rookie

Not on a push rod motor. But you want to loosen up the rocker arms so when you do this you want to make sure the cam is not pushing on the rods. Its best to do it in the firing order so you don't have to rotate the engine as much

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-28-2015
Rookie

Also when your undoing the head bolts start on the outside and work inward

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-28-2015
PONY Member

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn95er View Post
also when your undoing the head bolts start on the outside and work inward
number one buy a manual instead of listening to backyard mechanics.you will find in the manual the correct way to tear down your motor. Use the latest torque specs and follow to a "t"use only the latest headgasket from ford.these motors have a habit of blowing headgaskets.get your specs from ford when you buy your gaskets.get new headbolds and lube them with antiseize before installing them.do not use motor oil on them.

OLD ENOUGH TO KNOW BETTER BUT YOUNG ENOUGH TO STILL ENJOY IT
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-28-2015
MACH I Member

Garage
97-98 V6 has revised head bolts. 94-96 were the problematic years.

I would not slap headgaskets in a 152K mile motor. Asking for headaches.