Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

It's my first time posting here and hoping to get a little help. I purchased my mustang about 2 weeks ago. It's a VERY cold day and i start my mustang, I then go out to clear snow out of the windshield(took a while). When I come back in my engine starts a VERY loud humming sound, when it stops the oil pressure tanks all the way down and then the rpm's tank all the way down(all on idle). I turn it off then on again and the rpms range between 400-750 sporadically(idle). I turn it back off and check the air filter then turn it on again and just drive off.

I've heard this noise(almost sounds like a cruise ship taking off) before and one time was able to open the hood to try and check where it was coming from. Originally I thought it came from the left side but it seems to be coming from under/around the air filter on the right. Nothing seems to be wrong with the air filter or any blockages.

Two more things to note, the mustang does have a fuel leak I've been meaning to get fixed. Whenever I park my car up hill and the tank is decently full it will leak near the tank. Also I believe the previous owner used 89 octane fuel, I used it for a while but then a friend of mine told me it runs better on regular so I recently switched to that about a week ago. Maybe its in my head but I feel like it has been riding better. How bad is it that i changed up the gas?

I appreciate any help I can get! Thanks a lot!

·
Registered
1,351 Posts