Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am starting a build on a 4.6 this fall. Im in a high performance engine building program in college. I will be doing all of the work myself and it will not cost me labor. So heres my question... can a build a short block capable of supporting roughly 1000 hp for $3000. $3000 is my limit for the short block and keep in mind I wont have to pay for any machine work/blueprinting/balancing. any luck with the stroker kits guys? Is the Iron block strong enough? Im looking for answers from guys who have been down this route allready I am a mechanic by trade so dont worry about answers being too technical. Just getting into building fords need some hints. power adders will be involved either nitous or a tt set up so pref. a reccomedation of a kit with low compression pistions.

G

·
1000HP short block for $3k:scratchchin lets sea:
good steel crank @$1000.00, good set of rods @$1500.00, pistons @$600.00, rings and bearings, @$200.00, H/V oil pump @$100.00....Im gonna' say No but your gonna be close;)......oh, and dont forget all the special thermal and oil shead coatings that are gonna' be needed to make that 1000 HP engine live, @$500.00:gringreen

·
Registered
3,600 Posts
superchargers or twin turbos can get quite expensive. as far as i know twin turbo setups are at least $5k and the cheapest non intercooled supercharger setup that i have seen was a procharger for $3.5k.

·
Registered
826 Posts
go to www.50restro.com and you can get a 03/04 cobra short block built capable to 900hp for 2,400.

G

·
guys, I think your missing his point:
he wants to build it himself as part of his college training and is only concerned wth building the "short block"

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6