Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to this site so I will introduce myself and give you all some history about me. I am a 19yr old student at Lincoln College of Technology in Indianapolis, IN. I graduate in late August. I have been working on cars since I was 12 with my dad. My father and I have already restored an MG midget. I have owned a couple tuner cars and now I have been shocked by my gf by her giving me a 65 mustang. My first mustang and I have ran into an issue.

Ok this may be a stupid question but is there any kind of a crossmember swap or anything that I can do to my 65 to eliminate the shock towers? It have the i6 but I have a 351m in my garge I want to put in it but the shocktowers are in my way. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. I've looked on other forums and on here and cant seem to find any threads that really help.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
i'm not sure on that but man you got yourself one heck of a woman to give ya a gift like that :bigthumbsup

·
Registered
765 Posts
You don't have to remove the shock towers to put a 351 in either a 65 or 66 - people do it all the time. Yes, it is a little tighter in the engine bay, but doable. A 351 is essentially a 289 with a taller deck.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yea I know a standard 351windsor and cleveland will fit but I have a modified. If it will fit its not enough room for me lol im a picky guy. Is there any way possible to eliminate them?

Yea she is one hell of a woman. I love her very very much!

·
Registered
579 Posts
I believe most people doing a shock tower delete are doing a coil over suspension/mustang II swap when they do that, that way there's still a way to bolt in suspension in the front. Otherwise with the shock tower delete you won't have any place for the upper control arms/coils/shocks to bolt to.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6