Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I have a 1965 Mustang with a 302 engine. It originally was automatic or still is I should say as of now. My question is I've been reading a lot of articles saying that the best T-5 transmission to use would be out of an 87-93 Mustang. I got my hands on a 1995 Mustang T-5 transmission, can I use that transmission on my car? I am also going to do the clutch cable conversion from Ron Morris Performance (which on their site they say to use a bellhousing from an 87-93 mustang) So now I gotta get my hands on a 87-93 bellhousing. Also am I going to have to change the input shaft with one from an 87-93 Mustang or can I use the current one because I've read that its longer on a 94-95 and why does it matter? sorry I'm an amateur, Thanks in advance for your help.

Ron Morris Performance: Clutch Cable Conversion Kit, 1965-66 Mustang

·
Registered
8 Posts
I am just finishing the same project on a 65 /289 Fastback. I spent consideral time looking for a good Bellhousing and went with Quicktime Bellhousing. Great Torgue. Yes they are expensive but it worked out great. I went to Modern Drive Line for the clutch cable and set up. You can get your shaft cut to your lenghth locally to save a little money. I went to Steeda to get a shifter that looks awesome and fits the T5 perfectly. I spent 2 months researching and these are by far the best products you can get. I went with the HIPO manifolds so everything can fit nicely with stock H-pipes to the mufflers.
Good Luck

·
Registered
87 Posts
if your going with the cable clutch, you need to take special consideration that long headers will be to close to the route the cable passes through. sometimes causing it to melt and the cable wnot work anymore. i personally pieced out my own hydraulic clutch assembly and spent the same amount.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4