Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi folks i am new to the post i have a 65 mustang straight 6 .. it has been sitting for a little while now i think i have a real problem starting it up ..
+first when the ignition will keep trying to turn the car over even with the key OUT ..
+ second a couple weeks ago i jumped started it and it was fine for a little while.. but the last few times i tried the wire coming from the battery to the solenoid turns red hot .. hot enough to make the wire cover smoke..?? any recommendations on any of those issues?? thank you very much
Mgold

·
Registered
574 Posts
Welcome to AFM! There are lots of helpful and knowledgeable folks here. Some are even both;)!

I'd start by checking to make sure your solenoid is making solid contact with the body. When mine became loose I experienced the same symptoms. Next, I'd replace the solenoid.

·
Registered
4,555 Posts
I agree with cuddyk about the solonoid needing to be replaced, the starter can be drawing too much current and causing the wire to smoke, this can be caused by bad starter, something causing the engine to drag (like coolant in a cylinder, put a socket and ratchet on the crankshaft and see how hard it is to turn the engine over, a misfiring cylinder or points and condensor bad, or too much initial ignition timing can cause it too be hard to start, or rust in the cylinder walls, etc. ALso cranking an engine too much can overheat the starter and ruin it, and cause the wires to the solonoid and starter to get really hot, and even smoke, I forget the actual rule but I think it is about 15 seconds of cranking, then three minutes to cool. Starters are for intermittent duty only. Good Luck.

·
Registered
1,472 Posts