Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have recently replaced carburetor with a new autolite 2100, new fuel pump, new fuel filter, the car will not start unless i spray it with starting fluid then it runs fine. i do have fuel at the accelerator pump however if i look in the carb while trying to start it i see no fuel entering? any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
831 Posts
I have a couple thoughts. You could have weak spark, which makes starting harder. Since you can get it started with ether, and thereafter it runs fine, I'd say your starting technique may need to be adjusted. As you crank, give the gas a good pump or two. Keep cranking and push your foot to the floor and hold it there. What the pumping accomplishes is it give more gas to the engine. Your accelerator pump will do two or three massive squirts, which should be the same thing as giving it starting fluid.

Welcome to the forum. I am no carb expert, so the others will jump in, but that technique works for me when starting a cold car.

·
Registered
324 Posts