Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Im still learning the dates and buck tags but dont have a clue about these Calif Emissions Numbers.

On the round piece that sits on ( i think) top of rear of manifold is:
C60E - 9B289C L3554

Im guessing the 289c is the engine. No clue about the L3554 I'm thinking it might all be Ford part numbers maybe?

On the outside (front) of pulley is C60E - 9B447B. Has 4 bolts that attach the pulley to pump.

on the pump itself (front;pulley side) is 5696856
CFB 1 (The CFB 1 is directly under the 5696856)

Also on front of pump "Do Not Clamp in Vise" (all caps)

and there is a circle thing. a big circle (size of dime) with a smaller circle inside it. Inside the small circle is the number 65

On back side of pump is D 1 0 56SB (these are hard to read but i think they are correct.

Thanx guys.

·
Registered
2,636 Posts
The breakdown of Ford's numbers is as follows:
C5ZZ-9510-K
Prefix-C5ZZ, Basic part number-9510, Suffix-K
The Prefix- tells the year it was originally built for production, what car line, and the engineering group.
1st position- Decade
B=1950-59
C=1960-69
D=1970-79
E=1980-89
F=1990-99

2nd position- Year of decade
Tells the year the part was released for production

3rd position- Car line
A= Ford
D= Falcon
G= Comet, Montego, Cyclone
J= Marine/ Industrial
K= Edsel
M= Mercury
O= Fairlane, Torino
S= Thunderbird
T= Truck
V= Lincoln
W= Cougar
Z= Mustang

4th position- Engineering group
A= Chassis
B= Body
E= Engine
Service parts breakdown as such:
Z= Ford division
Y= Lincoln/ Mercury
X= Original Muscle Parts program
M= Ford Motorsports/ SVO

Basic part number- same number for engineering or service number. In this example 9510- the basic part number for all carburators.

Suffix- is the engineering change level.
"A" would be the original status. "B" would indicate at least one engineering change and so on.