Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just signed up today to possibly get networking with like minded people. I am totally new to restoring and have moderate experice working on cars. I am not scared to work on cars just really do not know much about body work and do not have friends that do or just do not have the time to help. Recently

I have purchased a 66 mustang with a decent amount of floor rust. I have cut most of the bad parts but cannot do much with the floor rust that leads to the firewall. I have already purchased replacement pans full length and toe to firewall panels for each side. I am at a stopping point due to the fact that I am not a welder. I do see some rust on some other spots of the car and not sure which way I should go.

Someone told me to go get it media blasted or I call sandblasted and that will get all the rust out but not sure. Another person has told me to strip it down to the frame then build back up. I am also trying to save all the good body parts on the car. If the car is torn down to the frame will the good body parts be destroyed? So far all the outside body I can see is good accept the right front and back fenders need to be replaced. The rest of the outside body seems to have only surface rust which I sanded out and primered.

I know this was going to cost some money but I am trying to do it at a moderate amount and not be a money pit. If anyone has any suggestions that would be great. Im not even sure if I need to call a local body shop due to the fact I cant drive the mustang there it would have to be towed. Also if anyone knows any trustworthy shops in Fort Worth Texas that would be helpful also.

Thanks
<---New Mustang Person

·
Registered
1,642 Posts