Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A pressing concern, atop so many others, would be my rear suspension. My car is a inline 6 and is mainly street driven. I rarely have rear passengers but I would like to accommodate for that as well. The roads here are a mix between bumpy and smooth. It sags a lot and I feel its time to replace the aging leafs. Since this is my first time replacing them, I am open to any advice, I kind of got a jist on how to do it. I'm more concerned on choices:

I get the 4, 4 1/2, and 5 leaf setup. Basically 4 is stock spring rate, 4 1/2 a little firmer, and 5 basically a race set up (for lack of better words)? Correct me if I am wrong please. Also there are the GT springs.... (someone explain please)

Standard eye is stock height, mid is a 1" drop and reverse is a 2" drop right?

My main question here or at least request would be your guy's opinions and experience with what springs you use and why and how do they feel when you drive. Also pictures! Pictures are a thousand words and it would help me visualize a choice.

I have seen a few threads on here recently discussing springs and it helped me stir this up but unfortunately they die within a couple of posts. Any help as I hope to do this before summer. Thanks everyone, you are all equally awesome and sorry for the long post.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Brandon,
All vehicles, the Mustangs included, are a series of compromises between handling, power, comfort, etc. The leaf springs on your car are no exception. All in all, you will find that OEM 4 leaf standard eye springs will work out really well for you. Stiffer and lower bring problems you most likely will not wish to address. Now, if you at some time wish to make a road race car out of your ride, you should re-visit this subject.
Best,
Al

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Brandon,