Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started my 66 all day 5-6 times, no issues. Started fine, quickly, smooth. Then suddenly last time it started cranking realy slow. Thought it was a dead battery - got a jump. Tried starting in Park and Neutral Did not help at all with minmal improvement in the crank speed / duration. I got a new battery, checked the cables (seem OK) tried again and nothing. Any thoughts?

I read a note on the Park/Netural adjuster slipping - could this be the issue? I read about grounding issues but it seems like it is working on Cranking.

Love some help.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick response. Could that really be what it is? Just thinking the engine turns over just sounds like it is working too hard. Connection could have come loose while driving today/.

So you think bad connection causing it not to get enough amps to the starter? I am a novice so how would you tell it was any of the following:

Starter?
Solenoid?
Voltage Regulator?
Neutral Saftey Switch?
Distributor / Plugs?
Fuel?

Just trying to learn. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Thanks for the quick response. Could that really be what it is? Just thinking the engine turns over just sounds like it is working too hard. Connection could have come loose while driving today/.

So you think bad connection causing it not to get enough amps to the starter? I am a novice so how would you tell it was any of the following:

Starter?
Could be...