Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to all this and i dont know too much about cars yet. Im trying to convert my car to a V8 but i dont know if i HAVE to switch rear-ends from the 8" to the 9" or can i just change the axles. :headscratch:

·
Super Moderator
40,142 Posts
:waveyWelcome to the site:wavey

·
Registered
227 Posts
Welcome
The factory rearend for 66 inline sixes cannot handle a V8. You can go with either an 8" or 9" rearend. Most 9"s will need to be cut to fit the 65/66 width. The 8" can handle a lot of power and is lighter...just a suggestion. What transmission are you going to put behind the V8 and what size V8 are you dropping in?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The idea i have is to get a 302 engine from a 88 to 92 fox body and the keep AOD transmission that it comes with. So i will have to get a different rear-end for my car :bigthumbsup

·
Registered
895 Posts
Firstly you don't have a V6 (unless someone has swapped it in) you have an I6, and you need a solid plan on what you want to do and how much you have to spend. But you will need engine, trans, wiring, suspension, rearend, springs, fuel lines, steering, hubs, wheels, drive shaft, and a ton of other stuff.

·
Registered
136 Posts
you also need to have a budget in mind will you be leavin the 5.0 stock doing new heads injectors figure out how much you are willing to spend on the project before diving in (im working on a simular swap into my car and the car is now 8000 over the original budget I planned lol

·
Registered
471 Posts
Before you go through all the trouble of switching form a I6 to V8 take a look over at fordsix.com and classicinlines.com. They carry a lot of good stuff and good info for the inlines. Beside the is more to a V8 conversion than changing out the engine and rear end.

·
Registered
527 Posts