Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, first time posting here. I'm pretty new to vintage Mustangs, but I've been trying to learn as much as I can about them. I'm looking to purchase a 1967 Ford Mustang, but there are a few things I'm curious about and would like some input on.

I've been scouring Craiglist for awhile and finally came across a Mustang I like and am very close to purchasing it. Based on the VIN number it is definitely a 1967, but a few parts of the car are reflective of the 1968 model such as:

• No horizontal line in the front grille
  • No "FORD" in block letters on the hood
  • The side panels are the same as the 1968 model
  • Steering wheel appears to be the 1968 models
  • Door handles (inside) are not levers like on the 67 model.

However, like the 67 model, there are no side reflectors on the rear of the car and there are no shoulder seat belts. Also, as previously mentioned it has a 67 VIN.

So now I'm not sure what is going on. My question is, were late model 1967 Mustangs visually identical to the 1968 models? I can't figure out if towards the end of the 67 model run they started carrying over some of the 68 stylings. If not that, then the car must have been a 1967 model and was restored with parts from a 1968 model.

I've attached a whole bunch of pictures for you to look through. The car is absolutely gorgeous looking. There is no rust anywhere on the car, not even underneath. It has a new 289 v8 engine with 4 barrel edelbrock carb, new transmission, new electrical system, new alternator, etc, etc. It simply drove perfectly.