Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1967 Mustang convertible.The gas guage is reading E all of the time.I would like to fix it but I don't know where to start.I have around ten gallons of gas in the tank.When I turn the ignition on the guage will move from below the E line to the E line. That is it. I went under the tank and banged on the sending unit(hoping the float was stuck from years of non use).Now here is where I have the problem.I am no electrician so bear with me.I pulled the wire off the sending unit on the tank.I took the alligator clip on my tester and connected it to the sending unit. I touched the other end to the inside of wire connector making sure I hit metal.The light on the tester didn't go on.So I took the alligator clip and grounded it to a bolt on my frame and my test light light up and it was flashing on and off.I read in some other article that that it was normal for the tester to flash.While I was touching the wire to the bolt my son was watching the gas guage and the needle didn't move.So I would think the wiring and the guage is good?Does that mean the sending unit on the tank is bad? If anyone has a clue let me know. Thanks,Ken

·
Registered
9,200 Posts