Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings.

Regrettably, a few days ago I ran my Mustang ('68, 289 A-code, automatic) dry of gas and now I am experiencing rather severe idling and acceleration issues. Idles just fine when in park, but gets choppy and weak when put into drive, and has a noticeable lack of acceleration and power. Also, predictably, this is affecting gear shifting as well... it shifts hard and has a audible whining sound for about 2-3 seconds before shifting.

I figured that it probably sucked a bunch of crap off the bottom of the fuel tank and clogged up my lines/fuel filter. Changed the filter (twice) and cleaned out the lines, but still the same recurring, although sporadic, issues. Sometimes it runs fine and sometimes it doesn't.

I know enough about cars to get by, but I am far from an expert. It was suggested by a knowledgeable friend that the carb bowl might have some crud or maybe some water in it. Either that or the fuel pump has become damaged, perhaps? Unfortunately, I don't have the resources to do any of this on my own time right now, so I'd appreciate a few opinions before I take it back to a shop and risk unnecessarily wasting money.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

·
Registered
4,555 Posts