Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,how hard is it to install performance headers in a 1990 5.0lx?I am a noob to engine bolt on HP but am good with my hands.It looks easy enough to do but worried about at how hard the bolts on stock headers are going to be to unsrew off engine block and the one side were it looks like i have to take other engine parts off to get at header.I have off road h-pipe and 2 chamber muffers system now.How much more HP will i gain with headers?How many hours avergae would i need to install headers?Would it be better just to take it to a shop and hve it done? Thx.

·
Registered
196 Posts
First. What brand headers are you getting? Are you getting shorties (equal or unequal) or LONG tube headers?
Next, to get the bolts of. Spray lots of MARVELS MYSTERY oil on it the night before you do the install. When you wake up spray again. Should be ready to take off.I did not drive my car when bolts were soaking.
Only thing I had to remove was my intake tract (piping, maf, and airbox) as they were in the way. Do not forget to undo from your midpipe as well.

As far as power numbers...well, overall your PEAK numbers will not go up much 1-10. But throughout the powerband you will notice a difference (on a dyno.not the butt dyno)

To do the actual work by myself it took about 1 hour. But I am more familiar with working on my car. Could take you less. Or could take you 3 hours. Never know on how stubborn yourbolts will be.

FINAL THOUGHT

GET STAGE 8 LOCKING HEADER BOLTS!!!!!!!!!1

·
Registered
3,406 Posts
Yeah, the bolts to the heads are no trouble at all. The ones to the H-pipe are the big what-if. But If you have new headers, they'll come with new studs and bolts for the H-pipe joints. It's almost easier, when the studs on the outgoing headers shear off, it's a good thing - as long as you don't have to put those old headers back on.