Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
This is my wife's 1991 Mustang LX 5.0 It's got around 150,000 miles on it. We live in the suburbs of Phoenix and in the Summer there is no way we can run the A/C without the damn thing over heating.

I've tried everything. A 180 degree thermostat. A reverse rotation direct drive flex fan, with an extension to get the blades right up next to the radiator core, a Ford Racing multi core radiator, and even the whole blue hi-temp Silicone Hose Kit. It still runs hot.

So bad in Summer traffic we have to turn on the heat and run the fan to keep everything from going off the end of the gage. I'm ready to get rid of it. We've been putting up with this for 20 years. I've heard electric fans work well, but I'm no electrician, and I've heard they can cause a lot of trouble if they are not hooked up correctly. I don't know what to do except live with it. Has anyone else gone through this? Thanks in advance, Bill T.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I second the electric fan. I hear the electric fan our of an older Taurus with a DC controller is the best way to go. If you surf around these forums(Or wait for someone who knows the specific years) you can go to a junkyard and pick up the fan and order the controller online. Make sure to set it up so that it pulls the air through the radiator.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The liquid metal hot pants and high heels keep me as hot as the Mustang! Bill T.

·
Banned
7,170 Posts
what were we talking about..........:gringreen. oh yea, the 3.8 taurus fan is the one. 36-3800 c.f.m. fleabay for 40-45 bucks. several companies sell the fan control kits.

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I'm just going to keep shut on the 2nd topic in this thread. My wifes ears itch any time I even look at another woman.

·
Banned
7,170 Posts