Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I hope i'm posting this in the correct spot, I have a few questions about making more power out of a 1993 302 block. I am new to these threads and here is my story: I have a 1993 Ford 302 engine that needs rebuilt so i decided while it was out, i would do a cheap build for reaching the 300-350 hp goal. I was wondering how hard that would be on a $1,500 dollar budget. I need to know things like choices for cams/heads/intake etc. I plan on putting it into an older Fox Body for a nice street/strip car. If i have not mentioned, I am a rookie, i'm still in high school and its my first build so any advice will help! Thanks everyone!

·
Banned
480 Posts

·
Registered
6,274 Posts
Great stuff up there ^ :bigthumbsup

300 HP can probably be done for $1500... But that is cutting it close, you will have to be very penny wise, and assuming a lot.

·
Registered
230 Posts
You are probably better off finding a used motor unless you just want the expierence of a rebuild. For my car I picked up a low mile 302 bottom with trick flow heads on it already for 900 bucks. I got lucky and found a guy that just put a 347 in. All I did was add a tfs1 cam and track heat manifold all said and done I was under 1500 and the thing runs like a raped ape

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It is a higher mileage engine (170,xxx) and i did not want to put money into something that's going to crap out any minute, That's why it needs rebuilt. Also i need the experience because its my hobby. I plan to race with my buddy who has a 12 second firebird so i want to be able to give him a run for his money. Hope that answers your question

·
Registered
13,138 Posts
Well you wanna run 12's huh....the secret is in suspension and learning how to drive.

Where did that motor come out of?

·
Registered
797 Posts
Well, huge ass,