Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been debating this with myself for a long time, ever since I got the car 5 years ago.. Just trying to figure out all the pros and cons.. I have read in a few different places that if I go with the 351w, I'll need to upgrade the whole front end (K-member, etc). There is a 302 and 351w locally for $350 each.. What all would I need to get this rolling?

Thanks.:bigthumbsup

·
Registered
6,282 Posts
Why would you swap a modern 4.6 liter OHC engine with a small block motor that has its roots in early 1960's technology?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wanting to get my car up to 400-500rwhp.. I don't think this block can handle 400rwph safely, even with forged internals. :?: I'm not the best mechanic but I'm pretty handy with just about everything on my car..

·
Registered
6,282 Posts
I'm not a huge HP guy but look around the site here and see what others have done. The 4.6l was built with huge potential compared to the small blocks.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, I've seen some of the 4.6L 2vs with some power, but not what I'm looking for. I haven't seen any with over 400rwhp that was safe.. They aren't bad for mild street cars but I'm wanting a tad bit more than that. Thanks though, Yadkin. :bigthumbsup

·
Registered
6,282 Posts
Whatever you decide good luck. :bigthumbsup

·
Registered
864 Posts
i would go with with the 5.0 you can get soooo much out of them and then add some power adders to it ..... but i love my 5.0 and lighter then the 351 just me

·
Registered
13,138 Posts
It really depends on how much you wanna spend. You could do it with a 4.6 PI headed motor that is blown and that will get you some ponies or you can swap in a 351 stroked to a 408 and equip that bad boy with some nice heads and intake and that will get you some ponies. The choice is yours.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #9