Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ever since I bought this car a couple of months ago I been getting bad gas mileage. The car has just about 103000 miles on it now. The last time before I filled it up, I tried to ride it out as long as I could and it did something weird. The "Low Fuel" light went on and the meter was nearly on empty, I was on a side street at the time but after I turned onto a main street (from 25 to 40) the meter went back up very slightly and the Low Fuel light went off. The time I went to fill it up, it had around 160 miles (off a full tank). That's something like 10 mpg and I'm thinking I should at least be getting 5 more miles per gallon. It's a '99 V6 Automatic. The previous owner told me he only filled it up with premium gas while I've only been using regular (if that I has anything to do with it). I'm not a car expert and was wondering if I could do anything to fix this. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
6,074 Posts
How many gallons did it take to fill it back up? What size fuel tank do you have? Could you possibly having a problem with the gas gauge?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a 15.7 gallon tank. I'm thinking there might be a problem with the gauge, but I am not sure about that.

·
Premium Member
6,074 Posts
Ok.....well lets do the math. for you to go completely empty in 160 miles you would have needed 15.7 gallons, which would be 10.19mpg. I can't see any V6 getting only a little over 10mpg unless it was either leaking fuel somewhere (and you most certainly would have noticed that either by puddling on the ground or by the smell) or if you spent pretty much the entire tank driving at WOT, which I doubt. Do you remember how many gallons you put in the car when you filled it up again? Was it completely full when you filled up the previous time?

·
Registered
44 Posts