Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an electric green 1999 Cobra (stock) that I've been cleaning and working on for a while now. I'd like to supercharge it, but with the absolute minimum of engine or part modifications. I pretty much want to install a supercharger and go. I'm just afraid to put too much into it and blow the engine or other parts. Can anyone recommend to me a decent supercharger? I don't need huge amounts of power (no plans for the track), but I'd like more. I'm pretty new to the vehicle, so advice is very much appreciated! Thanks! :kooky:

·
Banned
12,435 Posts
Well prepare to open up your wallet, there's not really "inexpensive" supercharging that's worth anything (I'm probably one of the very few who has a supercharged 96 these days)...your stock block can only take about 6psi (maybe 75-100hp), I went with Kenne Bell as it seemed to be the least "extreme" of all the superchargers out there (I don't race my car, it's my 2nd car and just for pleasure, it runs better, but not like you would expect, also I have a full exhaust and suspension mods, another $4-5000)...however, be prepared to shell out about $5-7K to upgrade your car for the blower and fuel system upgrades/tuning etc alone...at that point you should just sell the stock engine or car and do a "terminator" swap, you'll be way ahead financially and in HP/longevity in the long run...I know it's not what you want to hear, but listen to experience...

·
Registered
5,431 Posts
Used Vortech head unit with 8 psi of Boost,piece together your own piping etc.. 42 lb injectors,higher flow fuel pump,NGK TR-6 plugs, and a O/R midpipe should do you good!:bigthumbsup

·
Banned
12,435 Posts