Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the Mustang world and I just inherited a 1999 Mustang GT. It is an automatic and I was wondering if it was worth it to swap it out to a Manual transmission or if there was anything I could do with the Automatic transmission to squeeze some more performance out of it.

A few things to consider concerning my driving habits:
The car is my daily driver and I do not race, I simply like having a car that runs well, sounds nice, and has a lot of horsepower.

I used to have a 99 Nissan Truck and I went through a few too many clutches because of bad driving habits when it comes to Manual Transmissions (I ride the clutch, I pop it too much, After 3 years driving a manual I still suck at achieving a smooth shift).

I plan on throwing some bolt on improvements into the engine to hold me over for the next year or two until I can afford to do some serious engine work at which point I will be going with a supercharger, new cam, other new parts that I'm starting to learn about.

And last, this is my first performance vehicle and the first vehicle that I will be modifying in any significant way. I'm pretty new to the world of performance vehicles so I'm just starting to get my toes wet.

Thank you.

·
Registered
383 Posts
Welcome to the Mustang world and to the forum, I cant provide any insight into the cost factor, but I am sure there are alot of folks here that will be able to tell you. Good Luck on the stang

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Alright. Now then, is there anything I can do with the transmission to get more out of it? I've read somewhere about adding a tranny cooler and changing the stall. I was wondering if there was anything else or if that is all there is to do with an automatic transmission.

·
Registered
1,020 Posts