Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, im pretty new to this so bear with me. I have a 1999 mustang, 100k miles, and recently about 1-3 seconds after i turn the car off the is a loud squealing noise, such as a baloon if you pulledd the end of a baloon with your two fingers. Ive been told it may be a vaccum leak but im not sure. Also, if this may be a symptom, it has a very bad idle, it will go to 1200, then down to 500 where it wants to die, and also the is a strong exhaust smell. Your help will be greatly apprecieated, this crap is so annoying everytime i turn her off :yelpleased:

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I forgot to say that the mods are a K&N intake, flowmater exhausts, and just ordered a BBK throttle body....Also, a ford mechanic told me it could be the MAF, IAC, TPS, or spark plug wires, but thats kind of broad ;)

·
Registered
242 Posts
Sounds like a vacuum leak to me, Listen under the hood to see if you pin point where it is leaking (while it is running).

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Alight ill check,and i guess if i spray the hoses with throttle cleaner and it hits the leak ill hear my rpm jump? I think ill stop by autozone and see if i have any luck

·
Registered
6,859 Posts
The noise happens AFTER you turn the car off? Does it happen if the AC is off?

Have you looked at the cooling fan as a possible source of this noise?

I just don't see the noise as a vacuum leak. The engine vacuum very quickly goes to zero after shutdown. I don't see the motor maintaining vacuum for even a second after shutdown. For the noise to be a vacuum leak, it should be there while the motor is running as well.

Please post all DTC codes.

The idle problem may be a separate issue. Check out:

http://www.allfordmustangs.com/foru...-dieing-idle-idling-rough-14.html#post2260649

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #6