Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Vehicle: 2000 Ford Mustang V6 - Rear Brake Issues

A couple of days ago, noticed a shuddering while driving, during a rainy day. It happened after I was stopped and hit the gas to drive. After that I heard a very ruff grinding / rubbing noise while driving and I checked my rear brakes which looked terrible. The rotors were rusted with the passenger rear rusted and pitted, hardly any pads showing and no smooth surface on the rotor.

So I'm thinking I need to do my brakes, which turns out to be a very good idea. I am by no means a mechanic, I have a limited knowledge of vehicles, what I can figure out and google on it and my Chilton. Didn't realize what I was getting into but it turned out to be a very good learning experience. Esp.. about the brake pistol tool I needed to push in the brake piston on the rear... and the fact that whoever did my brakes before never put the metal clips on them, so they never made the squealing noise etc. Then again, it is still a relatively new vehicle purchase for me with under a year with it.

I bought new rotors for both sides and pads. Found out also that one of the brake sliding pins/boots for the caliper mounting bracket on the passenger, then 2 on the driver rear were rusted frozen and I had to buy 2 new mounting brackets, boots/kit and pins.

I was able to finish up the passenger rear but noticed a leak of some kind on the driver rear which leads to my question and I will post pictures. I took off the driver rear tire and noticed a leak of some kind of fluid, with a lot of black gunky build all over the inside of the rim, towards the bottom, all over the bottom of the rotor, which looks like it rusted it further, rusted the brakes pads which I had to hit with a hammer to knock loose from the caliper.