Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if anyone else has seen many 3.8's with valve train noise under load. Mine is a 2000 3.8 Stang, and has been babied since new. Always run on Mobile One Synthetic 10W30, changed every 6000 miles. Like I said, babied. But during the summer, with the A/C on, running at highway speeds, you can hear some definite valve noise.
I am a Diesel Tech for Cummins engines, but dont know much about these modular Fords. I have been told that the valve train was not adjustable. Is this true? And has anyone else delt with this?
Any help would be much appreciated...

·
Banned
2,873 Posts
Just wondering if anyone else has seen many 3.8's with valve train noise under load. Mine is a 2000 3.8 Stang, and has been babied since new. Always run on Mobile One Synthetic 10W30, changed every 6000 miles. Like I said, babied. But during the summer, with the A/C on, running at highway speeds, you can hear some definite valve noise.
I am a Diesel Tech for Cummins engines, but dont know much about these modular Fords. I have been told that the valve train was not adjustable. Is this true? And has anyone else delt with this?
Any help would be much appreciated...
You don't have a modular engine (modular engines were the 4.6 and 5.4), you have a simple pushrod V6. The engine has hydraulic lifters that maintain proper preload, compared to setting valve lash on the older pushrods. Take a 3/4" piece of rubber hose and run it across the valvecovers and determine the area of the noise. It is possible that you have a bad lifter or a ticking valve.

·
Registered
44 Posts
VERY URGENT

what do i need to do a valve job on my own 2000 mustang v6. ive narrowed it down to it being a valve, and or a push rod. im replacing the push rods just for the hell of it. i took off both valve covers and it looks very good inside (i have picture on my profile). i know i might have to take my heads to a machine shop.