Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, new to the forum and hoping to learn a alot from you all. I've just recently purchased my first Mustang, a 2001 4.6L with 56K miles for $4,000. I know i stole the dang thing, couldnt pass it up. Car runs great, only thing i had to immediately replace was the #3 ignition coil which was causing the car to sputter at speed and idle.

Now the downside to the low miles is the fact it sat awhile. I've been able to go through the car a little more now that i have owned it for a month and have found that several hoses appear to have substantial dry rot. I'm also coding with a "Small emissions leak", which i am sure has something to do with the bad hoses. I've also pin pointed an active fuel leak at the rubber grommet leading into the fuel tank on the filler tube.

I'm a noob to auto-motive repair, but i know that with information and the experience of folks like yourselves, i can properly perform nearly all repairs needed on this car.

My question to you all, are there any kits available for replacing all hoses and lines that could have been subject to dry rot or am i going to have to pull each one, carry it to the auto store and say "I need this hose". Basically looking to replace all hoses, belts and lines because i really dont know what all needs to be replaced.

Thanks in advance for any help provided and any other advice to dress up the car or increase its performance would be greatly appreciated, already looking at body kits, can't stand the unfinished look under the front bumper!

·
Registered
3,600 Posts