Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so here the scoop....I just picked up a 01 GT Convertible, and I have noticed two things that have me a little worried. But fixing them up is half the fun. On that note I am just learning here, so if my questions are moronic pleas excuse me.

First, when I parked it in the garage over night, in the morning there was a strong oder of gasoline. Not to mention earlier in the day, I got the CIS light. Hooked it up to the computer gave me something about emmisions. I had just put gas in, so my I checked the fuel cap, reset the computer, and the light has not come back. Could an exaust leak cause this ? Anyone info would be great.....

Second, my rear suspension (i think) is making noises. When I drive I can hear it clear as day, and when I hit a bump on these lovely TX. roads I really here it. It a real high pitch noise like someting is loose....What should I check for ?

Any help would be great, this is a new game for me so any suggestions would be great. Thanks a million in advance

·
Registered
225 Posts
For the gas leak you might want to check where the filler neck goes into the fuel tank. There is a rubber grommet that could be bad or going bad. That seems to be a week spot on New Edge mustangs.

As for the sound your hearing I would advise you to put the car on jack stands and craw under there and look around just to be safe.

Most of the times if you hear a constant screeching noise it is time to rebuild the rear end. Now if it is just a jingling noise it could be something simple like the muffler mount is loose.

·
Registered
29 Posts
emissions