Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend from school owns a 2005 V6 mustang. Its automatic all stock. My 2001 is all stock also but its stick and i believe im a better driver. Were racing next week. So is it going to be an easy race?

·
Registered
11,432 Posts
BigDorin60 said:
My friend from school owns a 2005 V6 mustang. Its automatic all stock. My 2001 is all stock also but its stick and i believe im a better driver. Were racing next week. So is it going to be an easy race?
No, it won't be easy, but it's easier to get hp on your car to do the job.

Otherwise, you're pretty evenly matched. He's got more favorable gearing, and 17 more hp, but he weighs 200+lbs more.

Ditch the spare, for sure.

Throw in a K&N, disconnect the computer and drive like hell for the next 6 starts. go to an onramp, accelerate quickly, pull off, turn off the car, repeat.

That will teach your computer to be a little less sluggish.

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
It's going to be a close one. The only advantage I see him having is he will be more consistant with his auto than you are with your stick. All he has to do is floor it and go and you have to launch just right and hit your shifts perfectley. You can throw his hp advantage out the window because his auto sucks more power than your manual and his slightly better gearing only helps to neutralize his extra weight. Are both cars hardtops? If one is an convertible, the hardtop will have the advantage.

·
Registered
394 Posts
Monkey Boy said:
... Are both cars hardtops? If one is an convertible, the hardtop will have the advantage.
Why is that? Wouldn't a convertible be lighter?

·
Registered
72 Posts
Theres the machinery for taking the top down and storing it. Also, it makes the chassis more prone to flexing (bad for maneuvering). There are probably other things that Im forgetting, so just wait for another post by the experts ^^