Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2003 Mustang GT, and yesterday the heater core nipple (hose from the passenger side fire wall to manifold) on the Intake Manifold broke. I have been searching the forums using the search bar, and I haven't found anything that answers my questions or they were from 2012 or older.
Seeing how it is now 2014 I was wondering if any new technology came out since then.
Also how hard is it to do? (I do have a Haynes manual) My dad and I are very good at this stuff, but don't want to tear it down and have to tow her somewhere. I am a college student, which means broke, and I need my car running without having this issue come up again if possible. What else do I need besides the manifold? As in gaskets etc. I know everyone says to get the Ford Racing one with the aluminum cross over which is what I plan on doing, but how reliable are they? Will that nipple break again in a week, month, year? The car has 124,xxx miles on it and from the looks of the manifold it is all aluminum. It doesn't look like the black plastic ones online. I don't currently have the car and cannot post pics, it is at the mechanics shop where they quoted 500+ which is why I plan on doing it myself. If it is aluminum that means it was replaced before right? Sorry for being long winded just trying to get all of the information I can in one post so yall can help. Thanks in advanced for any help yall can give me.

·
Registered
943 Posts
If it is aluminum then yes it has been replaced, also if it looks similar to the stock one but is all aluminum my guess is its a trick flow or a professional products.

If it were me I would just replace it with the ford one like you said you were going to do.

The kit might not come with with the manifold to head gasket, you may need to buy that separate. The only other gaskets that come to mind are the gaskets for the plenum to intake manifold, and thermostat gasket.