Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys, i just recently bought an 03 mustang gt with 43k miles in perfect condition. im new to the whole mustang thing so i want to know your opinions on what are the best mods are to start off with.

right now the car has factory everything except the k&n air filter so its pretty quiet, which exhaust system would u go with?

also which mods should i start with as far as the engine goes?

and is it true that its best to shift around 5000 to 5200?

thanks for your help

·
Registered
79 Posts
IMO I think exhaust wise you should get Longtube headers an H or X pipe then a Catback system, as for brand look different ones up on you tube and see what sound you like better. Another good mod is a set of gears if you have a stick shift 3:73s are probably going to be your best bet but its your car not mine so its your call. Also a CAI is a good first mod option to get you started and possibly tune your car but if you plan on doing more mods you can just wait to do the tune later after all the mods.

·
Registered
2,827 Posts
If your racing shift at 5000-52000 depending on who your racing and if your winning haha. I hope you didnt mean just normal driving around town, you would be wasting a ton of gas. Driving round town i ususally shift around 3000-3500. First thing i would do is exhaust (catback with a midpipe), intake with a tune, then set of gears. Good luck.

·
Registered
4,137 Posts
Start with a CAI/tune and a set of gears (3.73 or 4.10). Maybe some UDPs. I am a fan of the Borla exhaust, but I hear good things about SLP and Magnaflow.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5